armasight-ad.png
Silencer_Shop_468x60

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56 Scope Review

Mike Coker

Trijicon is known for producing high quality, battle-proven optics.  I requested the Trijicon AccuPower 2.5X10X56 for review, mounted it on my LMT .308, and headed to the range for first impressions.

The AccuPower model line uses a single CR2032 battery to power the illuminated reticle.  This is a decidedly different approach from the Trijicon AccuPoint that uses fiber optics and a tritium reticle.  AccuPower scopes are less expensive to produce than AccuPoints and this particular model is $200 cheaper than the corresponding AccuPoint unit.  The AccuPower controls the illuminated reticle with eleven (11) brightness settings with an “off” position between each.  I do not like scopes that make you spin all the way back to zero to turn off power to the reticle.

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

AccuPower

I am picky about illuminated reticles.  Many companies miss the mark completely.  My personal preference is a single center dot that dials all the way down to a barely there “ghost” image.  A common problem is a reticle that never gets dim enough.  The light reflected into your eye causes your pupil to close which is exactly the opposite of what you want when that trophy buck walks out at twilight.  What you want is an illuminated reticle that you are not even completely sure it is on but yet you can acquire the target and place your shot.  I chose the green LED reticle as it is easiest color palette for me to see.

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

The Trijicon AccuPower gets “daylight bright” AND “ghost image dim.”  Most of the reticle is illuminated, which is counter to my ideal of only the center dot being illuminated, but it gets dim enough to not be a problem.  Part of my preference for only the center dot is because that limits the amount of light backwash into your pupil but the AccuPower works just fine.

Turrets are capped.  This is a MIL Reticle – MIL Turret design.  One click equals 0.1 MIL.  The tactile feel of the clicks are about average – not the super definitive click-click-click you will find on top tactical turrets but then again these are capped and not intended for that application.  Very easy to re-set zero after getting it dialed in.  There is not a “zero stop.”  I have the scope mounted on my LMT .308 which is used primarily for hunting out to 300 yards.  Zero is at 100 yards and I hold over or use the MIL-dot for longer shots.

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

Trijicon refers to this reticle as “MIL-Square” because the “dots” are actually small “squares.”

I chose the 2.5-10X56 model for several reasons.  The 2.5 magnification is good for hog hunting inside of 100 yards.  Wild hogs are nervous, twitchy, and seldom stand still so you don’t want too much magnification or you can’t keep them in sight.  10X is plenty enough magnification for where I normally hunt (although I do have several 3-15 scopes and the extra magnification does come in handy when trying to evaluate a potential trophy whitetail deer at several hundred yards).  And, the 56 millimeter objective lens is great at twilight.

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

Specifications:

  • Magnification:  2.5 X 10
  • Objective lens:  56mm
  • Weight:  26 ounces
  • Tube size:  30mm
  • Field of view at 100 yards:  37.9 – 10.2 feet
  • Construction:  6061-T6 aluminum
  • Focal plane:  Second
  • Total adjustment:  17.8 MIL
  • MSRP:  $799

In the field, the AccuPower 2.5-10X56 is a pleasure to use.  Images are crisp and bright.  In Texas, legal hunting time extends until 30 minutes after sunset (civil twilight) and the 56mm objective lens provides plenty enough light gathering capability to be confident in that late shot.  The eyebox is not finicky.

Accuracy is sub-MOA with a variety of factory ammo.  The Barnes VOR-TX 168gr had the tighted groups.

You generally can’t go wrong with Trijicon and the AccuPower 2.5X10X56 is a very fine choice at a great price point.

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

Mike Coker

Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56

Trijicon AccuPower

6 Responses to Trijicon AccuPower 2.5-10X56 Scope Review

  1. Michel c says:

    I have the 4 – 16 x 50 and love it. I have found no faults with it! Great scope for the money!

  2. Bill Stewart says:

    I have been thinking about picking up a Trijicon and I think your review just pushed me over the edge!

    Thanks for spending my money!

  3. Sherry P says:

    Nice review. I recently bought an MRO and thinking about upgrading my hunting rifle scope to something in the 10X or 15X range. Really need to find a range day where I can see the Trijicon in real world – they all look good in the showroom light!

  4. Tommy Davis says:

    The accupower uses batteries. The accupoint is led/tritium with less things to go wrong. Who wants a battery to go out during a hunt?

    • Mike Coker says:

      You can buy a lot of batteries with the extra $200. Besides, the battery is only for the illuminated reticle. The scope functions just fine without power.

  5. Willie Gomez says:

    I started using Trijicon about five years ago and am very pleased. My original AccuPoint 2.5×10 is my go-to hunting scope. I also recently picked up a MRO for my AR and it is every bit as good as the Aimpoint Micro.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *